Swimming at the Beach in February

Now most folks have heard of the annual Polar Bear swim on January 1.  Though I have not participated in the swim myself, I have allowed my kids to do the dip.  Today Finn figured he’d have his very own polar bear swim.  In this case, a polar express swim, and he’d wear a shorty rather than go in his birthday suit.

There was no point in telling my very determined child that it’s February and a long way yet from spring and proper swimming season, I said, ‘sure, if you want to go for a swim, go ahead.’  He couldn’t have been happier.  I didn’t need to tell him when he’d be cold; he’s a bright lad and is able to figure that out for himself.

Kids are too often told, ‘NO, you can’t do that,’ whatever that might be.  I believe we owe it to our children to let them take calculated risks, and push their boundaries.  It isn’t as though I him swimming on his own; there was little risk  other getting a little mucky, a lot wet and somewhat cold.

And the smiles that this outing brought was worth it!

Swimming and smiles:

So I challenge other parents to share their, sure you can moments, rather than, no–you’ll get cold, hurt yourself, or get dirty… Dirt is good! Just ask any kid;)

That was our little break from olympic fun… until tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under British Columbia, environment, events, family, kids, lorrie_miller, motherhood, olympic, parenting, social critique, vancouver

Leave a Reply

