The Word on the Street 2010: National Book and Magazine Festival

The Word on the Street, WOTS, for short, is a big literary deal.  It is a one day festival, held simultaneously in Vancouver, Saskatoon, Kitchener, Toronto and Halifax.  Word on the Street is an all ages free event featuring some up and coming literary types as well as some seriously big-hitters, you know the rock’n-rollers of the book world.  And all that being said, I will be there reading! This is my first ever reading gig.  Sure, I read every week to my adult class of English students, as we go through the stories of Canadian writers like, Margaret Lawrence, Michael Ondaatje, and Gail Anderson-Dargatz, but rarely, if ever, do I read them work of my own.  This is what I will be doing Sunday, September 26th at 4:30 pm at the Author’s tent.  I will read from Cadwallader Creek, the first chapter from my novel in progress (yet to be named). It will be published in the next issue of Room.  I have to admit that I am a tad nervous, but with the right number of Yogi breaths, I’m sure I’ll be alright.

Hope to see some friendly faces there.  I’ll let you know how it went.

Leave a comment

Filed under British Columbia, events, lorrie_miller, novel research, writing

Leave a Reply

